New Mexico’s 19 Pueblos

The 19 Pueblos of New Mexico

There are 19 Pueblo tribes in New Mexico. Each pueblo is a sovereign nation.

Today, Pueblo people are located primarily in New Mexico. At one time, the Pueblo homeland reached into what is now Colorado and Arizona, where incredible dwellings and trading centers were established at sites such as Chaco Canyon in northwestern New Mexico and Mesa Verde in southwestern Colorado. Pueblo people have preserved their identity in the face of multiple colonizing nations, and today, as always, value their identity and traditional ways of life. At the same time, Pueblo people live in modern houses, working and living both on and off our reservations.

Pueblo beliefs and actions are still guided by Pueblo Core Values, which include love, respect, compassion, faith, understanding, spirituality, balance, peace, and empathy. Celebrations and ceremonies are continued throughout the year, maintaining the connection to Pueblo communities, ancestors, and to the Earth.

See Feast Days Calendar PDF Map of the 19 Pueblos and Neighboring Tribes of New Mexico. Etiquette When Visiting a Pueblo

The 19 Pueblos of New Mexico:

The 19 Pueblos of New Mexico are renowned for their unique and historic art forms, from polychrome pottery to mosaic inlay jewelry. Some of these forms, such as weaving, basketry, drums, and pottery, are thousands of years old. Today, the Pueblo art community is a vibrant one with hundreds of highly skilled artists who maintain the highest levels of craftsmanship and technical excellence, and there are skilled Pueblo artists creating fine art in both traditional and contemporary styles. Learn more about the distinctive art forms and renowned artists from each pueblo at the Indian Pueblo Store.

Pueblo communities are happy to welcome visitors to experience our culture and traditions. We ask that visitors respect our our living communities. Please contact the pueblo directly to ensure it is open to visitors.

  • Acoma
  • Cochiti
  • Isleta
  • Jemez
  • Laguna
  • Nambé
  • Ohkay Owingeh
  • Picuris
  • Pojoaque
  • Sandia
  • San Felipe
  • San Ildefonso
  • Santa Ana
  • Santa Clara
  • Santo Domingo
  • Taos
  • Tesuque
  • Zia
  • Zuni