About Us

The Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (IPCC) is responsible for preserving and perpetuating Pueblo culture, and advancing understanding – by presenting with dignity and respect – the accomplishments and evolving history of the Pueblo people of New Mexico. It is located at the heart of nearly 80 acres of land owned by the 19 Pueblos and governed by the 19 Pueblos District (a sovereign government formed by the Tribal Councils of the 19 New Mexico Pueblo Communities) at the former location of the Albuquerque Indian School (1881-1982). The Center is comprised of museum and gallery space, a collection of murals and other Native arts and artifacts, a library, archives, an education department, a teaching kitchen/restaurant, and cultural programming and events – each celebrating the Pueblo culture of New Mexico.

IPCC is located within a cultural and business district in the middle of Albuquerque (at 12th Street near Interstate 40). This district is also home to additional thriving businesses, which are also owned and operated by the 19 Pueblos of New Mexico, and managed by Indian Pueblos Marketing Inc (IPMI). These commercial enterprises include:

  • The Indian Pueblo Store, an arts store inside IPCC offering authentic Native American arts, jewelry and more
  • Four Winds, the ultimate convenience store
  • Starbucks at Avanyu Plaza, Native-owned/largest Starbucks in New Mexico
  • Avanyu Plaza, an outdoor gathering space
  • Holiday Inn Express & Suites
  • TownePlace Suites by Marriott
  • Extra Space Storage, a robust self-storage facility
  • Class A office buildings and additional office lease space
  • Commercial retail and restaurant lease space

All of the activity on the vibrant IPCC Campus is managed and sustained with the guidance of the administrative/executive team, our Board Members and Shareholders (who proudly represent the Tribal Councils of the 19 New Mexico Pueblos.) The IPCC Campus accomplishments are also made possible with the support of a dynamic team that provides information technology, human resources, finance and accounting, marketing, custodial, and facility maintenance services.

Board Members

Ron Shutiva
Chairman of the Board
Pueblo of Acoma Former Governor – Pueblo of Acoma NM State Highway Department – Native American Liaison
Chris L. Baca
Vice-Chairman of the Board
Pueblo of Santa Clara Retired IT Professional
James Roger Madalena
Secretary of the Board
Pueblo of Jemez New Mexico State Representative Former Governor – Pueblo of Jemez Tribal Council Member – Pueblo of Jemez
Larry Phillips Jr.
Board Member
Pueblo of Ohkay Owingeh Natural Resources Director – Pueblo of Ohkay Owingeh
Bruce Bleakman
Board Member
REDW CPAs – Partner
Brian Vallo
Brian Vallo (Acoma Pueblo)
Ex Officio Board Member
Pueblo of Acoma
Phillip Perez
Phillip Perez (Nambé Pueblo)
Ex Officio Board Member
Pueblo of Nambé

Our Leadership

Michael Canfield
President and CEO
Pueblo of Laguna
Christopher Anderson
Chief Financial Officer
Monique Fragua
COO Commercial Enterprises
Pueblo of Jemez
Michelle Garcia
VP of Support Services
Mark Thompson
Mark Thompson
VP Property Management and Development
Pueblo of Acoma